OldsPower.com  

Go Back   OldsPower.com > Discussion > The Lounge
Register Forums Gallery Support Us! FAQ Mark Forums Read

Help Support OldsPower.com
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 09-14-2011, 09:25 AM   #1
Bradbutlernc

Title: Banned
Status: Offline
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nashville, NC
Posts: 1,666
Default Air compressor tripping breaker

I recently aquired a Craftsman 919-165250 model air compressor




When i plug it into my 30a breaker my other compressors work on, it will run about 10 seconds and trip the breaker. When its running it pumps up to about 10-15 psi and trips. You can hear when it first starts itll be turning a higher RPM, then slowly the RPMs will drop and then it trips.

It had set in storage a while before i bought it. I tested it when i bought it and it worked great, and i stored it for about a month until i needed it again, now its doing this. Ive read that people take them apart and re oil everything in the motor and compressor part to free up any possible rust or anything. Also im handy with a DMM or volt meter/ohm meter so i can test it if i figure out how. What do you guys think?


Specs are
- 5HP 25 gallon
- single cylinder / oil free
- 9.1 scfm @ 40 psi
- 7.1 scfm @ 90 psi
- 120 volt / 240 cable 15a/7.5a
- 130 psi max

Last edited by Bradbutlernc : 09-14-2011 at 09:28 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 09:53 AM   #2
RocketFast321
 
RocketFast321's Avatar

Title: Olds Junkie
Status: Offline
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Montgomery,Al
Posts: 897
Photos: 11  Users Photo Gallery
Default Re: Air compressor tripping breaker

Test the capacitor
__________________
William:
EveryDay:"Mickey: 2001 Alero (5-speed) 2.4 150hp 155tq
Hauler: "Electraa" 1984 Buick Electra Estate Wagon 3oh7 (I got a woody)
RocketDog: 1990 Cutlass Calais Tech4 Powered
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 11:45 AM   #3
kevinkpk
 
kevinkpk's Avatar

Title: Old age and treachery
Status: Online
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 6,279
Send a message via AIM to kevinkpk
Default Re: Air compressor tripping breaker

I'd check the compressor for problems as it sounds like it is overdriving the motor, thus causing the breaker to trip. The only thing a capacitor does in this instance (they are also used in industrial applications to help correct for power factor) would be to start the motor due to induction. It charges up, then discharges to get the motor started. I'd look at an overload issue, and that would be in the compressor.
__________________
Old(s) cars and guys rule!
Quote:
Originally Posted by J-(Chicago) View Post
This is America, after all. We didn't read a manual to build it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 11:50 AM   #4
kevinkpk
 
kevinkpk's Avatar

Title: Old age and treachery
Status: Online
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 6,279
Send a message via AIM to kevinkpk
Default Re: Air compressor tripping breaker

You also could take the belt off to see if it is in the motor or compressor.
__________________
Old(s) cars and guys rule!
Quote:
Originally Posted by J-(Chicago) View Post
This is America, after all. We didn't read a manual to build it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 09:20 PM   #5
rocketraider

Title: Done with Oldspower.
Status: Offline
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: Air compressor tripping breaker

It's one of those direct drive oil-free jobs. No belt.

BB, what horsepower are the other compressor motors you've been running? 5 horse is a pretty substantial motor, though a 30A breaker ought to handle it easy enough.

This one is a dual voltage unit; it can run off 110 or 220. What voltage is this one set for and what voltage are you running it on?
__________________
I know absolutely nothing about Oldsmobiles, but I can tell an azzhole at a hundred yards.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 09:23 PM   #6
IIIQuaZIII
 
IIIQuaZIII's Avatar

Title: Master of Disaster
Status: Offline
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 10,857
Photos: 12  Users Photo Gallery
Send a message via AIM to IIIQuaZIII Send a message via Yahoo to IIIQuaZIII
Default Re: Air compressor tripping breaker

First off, a heavy gauge, short-as-possible extension cord does wonders..... Try it without an extension cord, or get a seriously heavy duty one.... I've had that problem with my craftsman compressor.

Secondly, my math may be wrong but I am thinking a 30A breaker is right on the lower edge of acceptable for a 5hp electric motor.....at least at 110v. At 220, that should fly no problems....

Craftsman themselves says like 23-24 amps is normal operating draw....at startup you can get an additional 50% surge.....
__________________
If a company advertises something as "indestructible", Trust me, I'm the guy you want testing it.

"Warning: Not to be used as a toy!" -The mark of all great toys.

iiiquaziii@yahoo.com, iiiquaziii on AIM/iiiquaziii on Yahoo messenger and gmail and gtalk. http://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.p...00001623773081 in facebook.

Last edited by IIIQuaZIII : 09-14-2011 at 09:32 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 09:58 PM   #7
Bradbutlernc

Title: Banned
Status: Offline
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nashville, NC
Posts: 1,666
Default Re: Air compressor tripping breaker

as far as i know its wired for 120, and its getting 120. It seems to me like the breaker is providing the initial surge for it, but the circuit overloads in short order. You can hear the motor start normal every time then just rev down and trip.


I should also add, the breaker i wired into says 30, but it has 2 outlets. Is this only 15a per outlet? Nothing is plugged into the other side of the breaker

Looks like this, my black wire is wired into the bottom hole on the breaker.

  Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 09:59 PM   #8
Bradbutlernc

Title: Banned
Status: Offline
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nashville, NC
Posts: 1,666
Default Re: Air compressor tripping breaker

I should also add that my outlet is wired with 10 gauge battery cable. Its about 30 ft long and im using 10 gauge cable for each lead (white, bare, and black). This should be sufficient, correct? It was just some cable i had laying around, i do not have it buried or anything.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 06:12 AM   #9
kevinkpk
 
kevinkpk's Avatar

Title: Old age and treachery
Status: Online
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 6,279
Send a message via AIM to kevinkpk
Default Re: Air compressor tripping breaker

so it's a 30 amp 220 with 10 gauge wire for a 5 hp motor. I don't have my uglys book, but I'd say that should be good.
__________________
Old(s) cars and guys rule!
Quote:
Originally Posted by J-(Chicago) View Post
This is America, after all. We didn't read a manual to build it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 07:58 AM   #10
RocketFast321
 
RocketFast321's Avatar

Title: Olds Junkie
Status: Offline
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Montgomery,Al
Posts: 897
Photos: 11  Users Photo Gallery
Default Re: Air compressor tripping breaker

I would not go off the fact that it is a 5hp motor, does it have a data plate on it?
__________________
William:
EveryDay:"Mickey: 2001 Alero (5-speed) 2.4 150hp 155tq
Hauler: "Electraa" 1984 Buick Electra Estate Wagon 3oh7 (I got a woody)
RocketDog: 1990 Cutlass Calais Tech4 Powered
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 10:50 AM   #11
rocketraider

Title: Done with Oldspower.
Status: Offline
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: Air compressor tripping breaker

He says it's running on 110. Agreed, wired on 220 he'd be good.

BB, see if you can find the manual for this thing online, and then check to see exactly how it's wired in the motor head.

Looks to me like it's had the plug changed too. I imagine it originally came with a 20a (one vertical blade, one horizontal blade plus ground) or 30a (two horizontal blades plus ground) plug and whoever had it before you changed the plug rather than wire the house correctly.
__________________
I know absolutely nothing about Oldsmobiles, but I can tell an azzhole at a hundred yards.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 10:54 AM   #12
kevinkpk
 
kevinkpk's Avatar

Title: Old age and treachery
Status: Online
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 6,279
Send a message via AIM to kevinkpk
Default Re: Air compressor tripping breaker

Quote:
Originally Posted by rocketraider View Post
He says it's running on 110. Agreed, wired on 220 he'd be good.

BB, see if you can find the manual for this thing online, and then check to see exactly how it's wired in the motor head.

Looks to me like it's had the plug changed too. I imagine it originally came with a 20a (one vertical blade, one horizontal blade plus ground) or 30a (two horizontal blades plus ground) plug and whoever had it before you changed the plug rather than wire the house correctly.
Yep. I read the spec he posted 110/220, that and the image of the breaker being for a 220 volt circuit I ASSummed it was on 220.
__________________
Old(s) cars and guys rule!
Quote:
Originally Posted by J-(Chicago) View Post
This is America, after all. We didn't read a manual to build it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 11:06 AM   #13
Bradbutlernc

Title: Banned
Status: Offline
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nashville, NC
Posts: 1,666
Default Re: Air compressor tripping breaker

The plug has never been changed, it says on the motor "wired at 120v" and it had the original terminals on the end of it.

The motor specs are 120v/15a and 240v/7.5a. pump model ac-0178. Max RPM 3450

I have absolutely no idea how to wire it up at 240v. Wasnt able to find a user manual for it either.



Just played around with it a bit. Went something like this

Let all the air out, flip the switch itll run about 10 seconds, trip breaker. Go to breaker box, flip breaker on, itll run about 7 seconds and trip. Flip breaker again and itll run about 3 seconds and trip. The RPMs of the motor are lower each time. The time before it trips keeps getting shorter and shorter each time i turn the breaker on.

There is also a loud buzzing sound inside the breaker when i turn it on. Checked the power at the motor when i turn it on it drops from 120v to about 98v then the breaker trips each time when it drops that low.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 11:07 AM   #14
Bradbutlernc

Title: Banned
Status: Offline
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nashville, NC
Posts: 1,666
Default Re: Air compressor tripping breaker

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinkpk View Post
Yep. I read the spec he posted 110/220, that and the image of the breaker being for a 220 volt circuit I ASSummed it was on 220.
I didnt mean to post one of a 220 breaker, but mine looks similar. It has one switch, but two outlets. I put my compressors black wire into the bottom outlet. I will have to get some pics.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 11:24 AM   #15
kevinkpk
 
kevinkpk's Avatar

Title: Old age and treachery
Status: Online
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 6,279
Send a message via AIM to kevinkpk
Default Re: Air compressor tripping breaker

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bradbutlernc View Post
I didnt mean to post one of a 220 breaker, but mine looks similar. It has one switch, but two outlets. I put my compressors black wire into the bottom outlet. I will have to get some pics.
Is it piggy backed? You say one switch, but it is "two wide"?

Thats the type breaker you need. Two wires into it, two out to the spade terminals on the plug, with the third wired to neutral. The breaker trips (if it does) will kill both 120 sides.
__________________
Old(s) cars and guys rule!
Quote:
Originally Posted by J-(Chicago) View Post
This is America, after all. We didn't read a manual to build it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 11:28 AM   #16
kevinkpk
 
kevinkpk's Avatar

Title: Old age and treachery
Status: Online
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 6,279
Send a message via AIM to kevinkpk
Default Re: Air compressor tripping breaker

PM me if you need help. I can send you my cell number.
__________________
Old(s) cars and guys rule!
Quote:
Originally Posted by J-(Chicago) View Post
This is America, after all. We didn't read a manual to build it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 12:04 PM   #17
Bradbutlernc

Title: Banned
Status: Offline
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nashville, NC
Posts: 1,666
Default Re: Air compressor tripping breaker

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinkpk View Post
Is it piggy backed? You say one switch, but it is "two wide"?

Thats the type breaker you need. Two wires into it, two out to the spade terminals on the plug, with the third wired to neutral. The breaker trips (if it does) will kill both 120 sides.
So youre saying that this breaker im using is 115v on each outlet? And if wire a wire to each side of it, it will turn into 240v?


Like i have my black wired into the bottom now, and if i wire my white into the top outlet, it will be 240?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 12:12 PM   #18
kevinkpk
 
kevinkpk's Avatar

Title: Old age and treachery
Status: Online
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 6,279
Send a message via AIM to kevinkpk
Default Re: Air compressor tripping breaker

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bradbutlernc View Post
So youre saying that this breaker im using is 115v on each outlet? And if wire a wire to each side of it, it will turn into 240v?


Like i have my black wired into the bottom now, and if i wire my white into the top outlet, it will be 240?
NO! Wire one wire one each side on the breaker (two wires into two breakers) the white wire is to nuetral, THREE total wires. One nuetral, with two 120 each. You want to call me?
__________________
Old(s) cars and guys rule!
Quote:
Originally Posted by J-(Chicago) View Post
This is America, after all. We didn't read a manual to build it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 12:14 PM   #19
kevinkpk
 
kevinkpk's Avatar

Title: Old age and treachery
Status: Online
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 6,279
Send a message via AIM to kevinkpk
Default Re: Air compressor tripping breaker

Read your PM
__________________
Old(s) cars and guys rule!
Quote:
Originally Posted by J-(Chicago) View Post
This is America, after all. We didn't read a manual to build it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 12:43 PM   #20
Bradbutlernc

Title: Banned
Status: Offline
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nashville, NC
Posts: 1,666
Default Re: Air compressor tripping breaker

Kevin i dont have access to a phone right now or id give you a shout, i dont have a landline and my gf has the cell at work. BUT, i think i did find the issue. Here are some pics, it appears to be an exploded capacitor. Not sure if thatd cause the issue or if that something i mightve caused somehow. I tried to get a pic of the wiring as well. That is 10 gauge battery cable in the fuse box. I have it color coded to the wire colors on the air compressor cord.



























  Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 12:45 PM   #21
Bradbutlernc

Title: Banned
Status: Offline
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nashville, NC
Posts: 1,666
Default Re: Air compressor tripping breaker

BTW kevin i didnt get a pm from you
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 12:50 PM   #22
Bradbutlernc

Title: Banned
Status: Offline
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nashville, NC
Posts: 1,666
Default Re: Air compressor tripping breaker

better pic of the blow capacitor so possibly you can see the specs

  Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 01:13 PM   #23
Bradbutlernc

Title: Banned
Status: Offline
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nashville, NC
Posts: 1,666
Default Re: Air compressor tripping breaker

I located a capacitor for it, 12$ + tax im going to pick it up tommorow. You guys think that may be causing my problem? When i get the new capacitor and put it in, does it matter which is pos and neg?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 01:43 PM   #24
kevinkpk
 
kevinkpk's Avatar

Title: Old age and treachery
Status: Online
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 6,279
Send a message via AIM to kevinkpk
Default Re: Air compressor tripping breaker

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bradbutlernc View Post
BTW kevin i didnt get a pm from you
You need to read your pm before you knock your ass off
__________________
Old(s) cars and guys rule!
Quote:
Originally Posted by J-(Chicago) View Post
This is America, after all. We didn't read a manual to build it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 01:51 PM   #25
IIIQuaZIII
 
IIIQuaZIII's Avatar

Title: Master of Disaster
Status: Offline
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 10,857
Photos: 12  Users Photo Gallery
Send a message via AIM to IIIQuaZIII Send a message via Yahoo to IIIQuaZIII
Default Re: Air compressor tripping breaker

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bradbutlernc View Post
I located a capacitor for it, 12$ + tax im going to pick it up tommorow. You guys think that may be causing my problem? When i get the new capacitor and put it in, does it matter which is pos and neg?
Sure can't be helping the issue! Yeah, I'd start there, let us know if it fixes it. Hook up the new one the same way the old one was...it really shouldnt matter though. It's ac.
__________________
If a company advertises something as "indestructible", Trust me, I'm the guy you want testing it.

"Warning: Not to be used as a toy!" -The mark of all great toys.

iiiquaziii@yahoo.com, iiiquaziii on AIM/iiiquaziii on Yahoo messenger and gmail and gtalk. http://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.p...00001623773081 in facebook.

Last edited by IIIQuaZIII : 09-15-2011 at 01:57 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:31 PM.

A vBSkinworks Design

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
OldsPower.com 2012 Herald/Rothe