OldsPower.com  

Go Back   OldsPower.com > Discussion > Engine/Transmission/Driveability
Register Forums Gallery Support Us! FAQ Mark Forums Read

Help Support OldsPower.com
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 07-29-2010, 10:54 AM   #1
rick57

Title: Olds in the Blood
Status: Offline
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 47
Default 307 with a 4 speed manual

Well it's together!! I put a 4 speed Saginaw behind my 85 vin Y rebuilt and bored out .060 307. It took a lot to find all the pieces that would fit and work together. I want to thank all the people on this site that helped me out with parts and advice, you guys were an invaluable asset. If any wants a parts list let me know and I'll post it. Wish I could figure out how to get a picture small enough ( file size) to post on here. Now comes the fun part! I'm going to put it in a 91 Formula I got for a great price. I know it's not and Oldsmobile but it will still be Olds Powered!! Have a nice day and thanks agine guys!!

Rick
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 11:05 AM   #2
Audiobahn
 
Audiobahn's Avatar

Title: Olds Junkie
Status: Offline
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Albany, Georgia
Posts: 607
Photos:Users Photo Gallery
Default Re: 307 with a 4 speed manual

Super!! Post some vids soon!!
__________________
I Never Ever had a lover put the petal to the metal and Burn Rubber on me!!-The Gap Band

More Bounce to the Ounce-Zapp & Roger

If you see her, tell her I want a free hug!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by 69hurstolds View Post
Um...who pissed in your cornflakes?
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 11:36 AM   #3
marcar1993
 
marcar1993's Avatar

Title: I HAVE no Money
Status: Offline
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 7,572
Photos:Users Photo Gallery
Default Re: 307 with a 4 speed manual

Put some pics on photobucket.com and link them to here. I wanna see, and yes a parts list and sources would be nice.

__________________
-Martin

87 Olds Cutlass- 1970 Olds 350, t56, 3.42 posi
My Old 403 Build Here
72 Plymouth Satellite 9 pass. wgn.- grandpa bought it new
93 Dodge Dakota- Hauler
92 Plymouth Acclaim- Daily Driver
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 12:46 PM   #4
olds307 and 403
 
olds307 and 403's Avatar

Title: I Have an Olds Life
Status: Offline
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Melville, Saskatchewan
Posts: 4,670
Photos: 10  Users Photo Gallery
Default Re: 307 with a 4 speed manual

My 4x4 isn't Olds either . Cool project, did you upgrade to the vin 9 roller cam with your rebuild? A good investment power wise and maybe some shorty headers. Then you will have 200 hp and at a nice boost in torque too. If the 91 Formula came with a TBI, use it. With a CCC Olds distributor and the chebby sensors, it works well. Just set the base timing more around 20 degrees.
__________________
1988 CSC, Ported #6, 9.5 to 1 Olds 350, 2004R, 3.42 open for now.....
1994 c***y 4x4 Olds 350/454 TBI, rebuilt 4L60E, 3.73 gov lock
2010 Challenger SE, Stone White, leather, 18" wheels
2000 Dodge Dakota Sport Club Cab 4x4 AEM filter,air box mod, Dynomax muffler, Accel coil,3.9 v6, auto, 3.92 no slip
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 08:14 PM   #5
one442

Title: I Have an Olds Life
Status: Offline
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 5,998
Default Re: 307 with a 4 speed manual

Very intriguing!

This kind of set up would be whole lot-ta fun in my ride on the street. But then I would have to worry about missed shifts at the track.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rick57 View Post
Now comes the fun part! I'm going to put it in a 91 Formula I got for a great price. I know it's not and Oldsmobile but it will still be Olds Powered!! Have a nice day and thanks agine guys!!
Its all good although Pontiac guys probably wont be too happy. In some ways I feel whatever powers a car makes the car.
__________________
Phil

1987 442 STOCK 307 - 15.179 @ 88.58 mph


7A head VIN 9 KZF 200-4R with a 8.5 3.73 air delete. Open/no air filter. 2 1/4" true dual Flowmasters with crossover. Alloy, mags, drums, and rad, 3560 race weight. Timing 22*, 23.8 inch diameter rear tires (4.07). Hypertech S R Chip. Mobile 1


http://one442.blogspot.com/


Past rides
1967 Cutlass 2dr 330, 1972 98 455, 1966 442 a2 400, 1971 Eldo 500
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 10:05 AM   #6
rick57

Title: Olds in the Blood
Status: Offline
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 47
Default Re: 307 with a 4 speed manual

I put a couple pics on photobucket. This weekend I'll put together a parts list and post it. http://s929.photobucket.com/albums/a...ird%20project/
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 11:17 AM   #7
svnt442
 
svnt442's Avatar

Title: Oldsmobile "Numbskull"
Status: Offline
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,849
Photos:Users Photo Gallery
Send a message via Yahoo to svnt442
Default Re: 307 with a 4 speed manual







__________________
Randy

75 Cutlass S 260 - Junked
76 Cutlass Salon - Wrecked
75 Cutlass - parts car
80 Cutlass Supreme - Sold
70 Cutlass S Post - stripped & junked
72 Cutlass Supreme - stripped & junked
70 442 SOLD..and REPURCHASED!..wrecked
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010, 01:39 PM   #8
rick57

Title: Olds in the Blood
Status: Offline
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 47
Default Re: 307 with a 4 speed manual

Thanks. I can build an engine but I can't figure out how to post pics on here..
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 02:06 PM   #9
rick57

Title: Olds in the Blood
Status: Offline
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 47
Default Re: 307 with a 4 speed manual

Well here is the scoop. I pulled the engine out of an 85 Buick Riviera to rebuild it. I had a machine shop clean it, bore it out .060, mill the decks and heads and I had them rebuild the heads. Then it ended up sitting in the garage a few years and the car rotted away. After about 12 years I decided to finish the rebuild. All the internal engine parts are new and it did have the roller cam and lifters. To put the manual 4 speed on it I had to start with the crank. It appeared to be rough bored for the pilot bushing but not finish bored so I had a pilot bushing made to fit, I used a PRW flywheel for a 350-455 Olds with 166 teeth, PN 164551. The BOP bellhousing I got from Lars here on this site.The clutch is a Hayes HD 12 inch. It was a low enough profile to fit. I used a Howe hydraulic throwout bearing PN 82870. It was still .030 to thick so I shimmed out the bellhousing .025 and the tranny .030 to get the clearance I needed. The statrer I got from a local parts store. It's for a 72 Firebird Esprit with a 350 and factory 3 speed. It fit perfectly. The tranny is a Saginaw close ratio 4 speed I got from a friend for $300 and her threw in a Hurst shifter. I have a Edelbrock 1406 carb to put on it and I'm saving my pennies yet for an EB 2711 intake manifold. The distributor I got online for $50 but I just wanted it for the new billet housing. I'm replacing all the parts of it with a Proform rebuild kit. There were a few more glitches that I ran into but hey nothing is real easy. If anybody has a question just ask.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 09:46 PM   #10
Beeterolds
 
Beeterolds's Avatar

Title: Armed and Hammered
Status: Offline
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Akron 44319
Posts: 12,482
Photos: 11  Users Photo Gallery
Send a message via AIM to Beeterolds Send a message via MSN to Beeterolds Send a message via Yahoo to Beeterolds
Default Re: 307 with a 4 speed manual

you have 7A heads i see.. sadly the only intake your limited to is the A5 otherwise your going to have a horrible port mismatch
__________________
1983 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme
02 5.3 V8 LM7 LS1 camshaft, Edelbrock Performer RPM Intake, 750 Q-jet
GN Th2004r D5 Converter
GM 8.5 3.73
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 09:49 PM   #11
Earls OLDS

Posts: n/a
Default Re: 307 with a 4 speed manual

Very cool project . Whats gears do you have ? 3:73's ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 06:44 AM   #12
rick57

Title: Olds in the Blood
Status: Offline
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 47
Default Re: 307 with a 4 speed manual

Quote:
Originally Posted by Earls OLDS View Post
Very cool project . Whats gears do you have ? 3:73's ?
It's the WS6 Formula and has the Limited Slip 3:23
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 06:47 AM   #13
rick57

Title: Olds in the Blood
Status: Offline
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 47
Default Re: 307 with a 4 speed manual

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beeterolds View Post
you have 7A heads i see.. sadly the only intake your limited to is the A5 otherwise your going to have a horrible port mismatch
I have the A5 intake on it. So your saying I won't be able to use an Edelbrock 2711? I do have the info on port matching.Will I have to do that or will it be to far off?
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 01:10 PM   #14
Beeterolds
 
Beeterolds's Avatar

Title: Armed and Hammered
Status: Offline
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Akron 44319
Posts: 12,482
Photos: 11  Users Photo Gallery
Send a message via AIM to Beeterolds Send a message via MSN to Beeterolds Send a message via Yahoo to Beeterolds
Default Re: 307 with a 4 speed manual

Quote:
Originally Posted by rick57 View Post
I have the A5 intake on it. So your saying I won't be able to use an Edelbrock 2711? I do have the info on port matching.Will I have to do that or will it be to far off?
While the intake will physically bolt up.. the ports on the aftermarket intake are going to be WAYYY bigger..

think of it like this.. your heads have intake ports that are square, the intake has bigger rectangle like ports.. it would be like flowing into a brick wall
__________________
1983 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme
02 5.3 V8 LM7 LS1 camshaft, Edelbrock Performer RPM Intake, 750 Q-jet
GN Th2004r D5 Converter
GM 8.5 3.73
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 04:52 PM   #15
rick57

Title: Olds in the Blood
Status: Offline
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 47
Default Re: 307 with a 4 speed manual

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beeterolds View Post
While the intake will physically bolt up.. the ports on the aftermarket intake are going to be WAYYY bigger..

think of it like this.. your heads have intake ports that are square, the intake has bigger rectangle like ports.. it would be like flowing into a brick wall
Thanks for the info, you just saved me $320. I'll have to use what I have.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2010, 05:30 PM   #16
one442

Title: I Have an Olds Life
Status: Offline
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 5,998
Default Re: 307 with a 4 speed manual

Yep Beeter is on the money.

This is the biggest knock on roller 307s. Non rollers have no such limitation.
__________________
Phil

1987 442 STOCK 307 - 15.179 @ 88.58 mph


7A head VIN 9 KZF 200-4R with a 8.5 3.73 air delete. Open/no air filter. 2 1/4" true dual Flowmasters with crossover. Alloy, mags, drums, and rad, 3560 race weight. Timing 22*, 23.8 inch diameter rear tires (4.07). Hypertech S R Chip. Mobile 1


http://one442.blogspot.com/


Past rides
1967 Cutlass 2dr 330, 1972 98 455, 1966 442 a2 400, 1971 Eldo 500
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 09:47 AM   #17
Boostfridge
 
Boostfridge's Avatar

Title: Proud Olds Owner
Status: Offline
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Guelph, Ontario
Posts: 62
Default Re: 307 with a 4 speed manual

cool project! just a heads up, you will have to drill holes for the olds frame mounts or make some kind of adaptors for the f-body, and the headers in the pic most likely will not fit. I tryed some headers like those on my 83 but they would not be bolt on and go deal. My frame mount I welded to the k-member and cut back off before I sold the car! It was lots of fun having all the Olds torque on hand in it. It ran a 15.3@88mph with a 3:08 open and 2" single exhaust!
__________________
1976 Cutlass "the fridge" Turbo 350 project in the works
1992 lumina 3500 v6 15.020@93.58mph 3spd auto
2002 Grand Am GT 3500 v6 swap 15.651@87.81mph, 34.5mpg on the highway!
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 09:35 AM   #18
rick57

Title: Olds in the Blood
Status: Offline
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 47
Default Re: 307 with a 4 speed manual

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boostfridge View Post
cool project! just a heads up, you will have to drill holes for the olds frame mounts or make some kind of adaptors for the f-body, and the headers in the pic most likely will not fit. I tryed some headers like those on my 83 but they would not be bolt on and go deal. My frame mount I welded to the k-member and cut back off before I sold the car! It was lots of fun having all the Olds torque on hand in it. It ran a 15.3@88mph with a 3:08 open and 2" single exhaust!
Thanks for the heads up! I'm working on the mounts now.I'm using stock mounts on the engine and modifing frame mounts to work. I'm sure I'll have to weld them on but I think I can get at least one bolt to line up. I'm hoping the 3rd Gen F-body will have more room for the headers.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:10 PM.

A vBSkinworks Design

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
OldsPower.com 2012 Herald/Rothe