OldsPower.com  

Go Back   OldsPower.com > Discussion > Electronics/Wiring/Enviromental Control
Register Forums Gallery Support Us! FAQ Mark Forums Read

Help Support OldsPower.com
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 02-27-2009, 03:35 PM   #1
406Boy

Posts: n/a
Default 82 Cutlass Stereo Replacement.

I want to put a later model GM factory radio w/CD player in my '82. What fits and what will I need for the changeover adapters, harnesses, etc?
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 04:10 PM   #2
dan2286
 
dan2286's Avatar

Title: I Have an Olds Life
Status: Offline
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North Ridgeville, Ohio
Posts: 2,766
Default Re: 82 Cutlass Stereo Replacement.

I dont know what style radio you have now, but on my 86, I put the radio from my 2000 grand prix in there and it fit perfect. Since the connector was already gone, I just went to the junkyard and got a newer style connector and connected that up to the existing wires. I did not need any adapters and the original radio bezel fit fine.

If your original connector is still there, I think they sell an adapter to switch the old style connector to the new style one.
__________________


'84 Cutlass
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 04:38 PM   #3
hobocline

Posts: n/a
Default Re: 82 Cutlass Stereo Replacement.

406boy doesn't have the same factory radio in his '82 as the one in dan2286's '86; '84 and up use a bigger radio. Not sure how you'd get those to fit in the small hole in the '82.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 08:37 PM   #4
LedHed430
 
LedHed430's Avatar

Title: I Have an Olds Life
Status: Offline
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chester, South Carolina
Posts: 1,933
Photos: 33  Users Photo Gallery
Default Re: 82 Cutlass Stereo Replacement.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dan2286 View Post
on my 86, I put the radio from my 2000 grand prix in there and it fit perfect...
???

Rich
__________________
'84 Cutlass Supreme Brougham, T-top, 350/200-4R
'68 Pontiac Tempest Custom, 2-Door Coupe, OHC 250
'73 Pontiac Grandville, 455/400, *CRUSHED* Engine & Tranny saved
'76 Pontiac Bonneville, 400/400, *CRUSHED* Engine & Tranny saved, Das Boot(hooptie)
'99 GMC Sierra, ton, 5.3l w/Hypertech tuning

-Repeal the 17th-


  Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 08:50 PM   #5
dan2286
 
dan2286's Avatar

Title: I Have an Olds Life
Status: Offline
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North Ridgeville, Ohio
Posts: 2,766
Default Re: 82 Cutlass Stereo Replacement.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LedHed430 View Post
???

Rich
Sorry, I dont have that radio anymore. If it helps, I could get a pic of my Alpine in there that has the adapter to install into a Grand Prix.
__________________


'84 Cutlass
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 08:54 PM   #6
OLDSDCTR
 
OLDSDCTR's Avatar

Status: Offline
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,179
Default Re: 82 Cutlass Stereo Replacement.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hobocline View Post
Not sure how you'd get those to fit in the small hole in the '82.

Simply change the radio face plate to the 84/86 style......the opening in the dash, behind all of the face plates, is the same size....then, as previously stated, you should be able to purchase a radio harness adapter from one year to the other.........
__________________
He Who Dies With The Most Toys Wins
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 12:32 PM   #7
hobocline

Posts: n/a
Default Re: 82 Cutlass Stereo Replacement.

ahhh. I wondered if that's all it was.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 02:49 PM   #8
dan2286
 
dan2286's Avatar

Title: I Have an Olds Life
Status: Offline
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North Ridgeville, Ohio
Posts: 2,766
Default Re: 82 Cutlass Stereo Replacement.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LedHed430 View Post
???

Rich
Here is a pic of the Alpine with the adapter I used in my Grand Prix.

__________________


'84 Cutlass
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 09:26 AM   #9
406Boy

Posts: n/a
Default Re: 82 Cutlass Stereo Replacement.

I noticed that my 82 has a plate bolted to the dash then the radio mounts to the plate. Will I need a plate from the open style 84-up in order to install the later model style radio? How about a harness that I can plug my existing plug into that will connect to the later model?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 09:35 AM   #10
OLDSDCTR
 
OLDSDCTR's Avatar

Status: Offline
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,179
Default Re: 82 Cutlass Stereo Replacement.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 406Boy View Post
I noticed that my 82 has a plate bolted to the dash then the radio mounts to the plate. Will I need a plate from the open style 84-up in order to install the later model style radio? How about a harness that I can plug my existing plug into that will connect to the later model?
The 84-up does not use a plate....instead, mounting tabs are bolted to the side of the radio which hold the radio in place where the old radio mounting was located....Most new aftermarket radios use this type mounting as well........ As for the harness, check with any auto parts supplier, many of them have harness adapters in stock.....Also, check with electronic stores such as Best Buy etc............
__________________
He Who Dies With The Most Toys Wins
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 01:45 PM   #11
85_SS
 
85_SS's Avatar

Title: I Have an Olds Life
Status: Offline
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,223
Default Re: 82 Cutlass Stereo Replacement.

You'll also need a constant 12V source for the memory wire on the newer radios - the lighter is an easy place to tap into for this.
__________________

1985 Chevrolet Monte Carlo SS
5.7 LITRE / TES Headers / SShaker Hood / WCT5 5-Speed
1970 Pontiac GTO
Orbit Orange Judge Re-creation / YZ RAIII 400 / M20 4-Speed
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 03:48 PM   #12
LedHed430
 
LedHed430's Avatar

Title: I Have an Olds Life
Status: Offline
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chester, South Carolina
Posts: 1,933
Photos: 33  Users Photo Gallery
Default Re: 82 Cutlass Stereo Replacement.

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLDSDCTR View Post
The 84-up does not use a plate....instead, mounting tabs are bolted to the side of the radio which hold the radio in place where the old radio mounting was located....Most new aftermarket radios use this type mounting as well........
X2 on the 84's not having a mounting plate. You'll need a 1 DIN head unit or adapter. The Audiovox I have in my '84 had mounts for the OEM pins to snap right in. I'd fine another source for the memory 12+. The fuse box isn't that far away from the radio. It seems like the Cig Ltr fuse blows too often for my tastes... But then again I'm a smoker.


Rich
__________________
'84 Cutlass Supreme Brougham, T-top, 350/200-4R
'68 Pontiac Tempest Custom, 2-Door Coupe, OHC 250
'73 Pontiac Grandville, 455/400, *CRUSHED* Engine & Tranny saved
'76 Pontiac Bonneville, 400/400, *CRUSHED* Engine & Tranny saved, Das Boot(hooptie)
'99 GMC Sierra, ton, 5.3l w/Hypertech tuning

-Repeal the 17th-


  Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 04:05 PM   #13
OLDSDCTR
 
OLDSDCTR's Avatar

Status: Offline
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,179
Default Re: 82 Cutlass Stereo Replacement.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LedHed430 View Post
The Audiovox I have in my '84 had mounts for the OEM pins to snap right in.

Rich
That Audiovox unit looks like it belongs there from the factory....nice installation
__________________
He Who Dies With The Most Toys Wins
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 06:41 AM   #14
DrRansom442
 
DrRansom442's Avatar

Title: Oldsmohaulic
Status: Offline
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Saint Charles, Missouri
Posts: 1,566
Default Re: 82 Cutlass Stereo Replacement.

As already stated the 82 should be a DIN sized shaft mount stereo ... however ... GM obviously planned the Din and Half in advance ... once you remove that metal plate ...you have the exact same mounting that the later models did ... if you decide to go an aftermarket ... keep this plate, it's metal most install kits are plastic. I'd have to find mine for the 81 but I am pretty sure GM even scored the metal so you could cut the shaft mounts out ... leaving the standard DIN size openning. You will either have to cut your bezel or use a DIN and half from a later car ... keep in mind the "wood grains" are totally different.
Wiring is going to depend on what you had in there originally. Despite color differences. My 81 seems to have the same connecters and wire locations as the later cars ... I have to rewire mine due to a prior hack job. I found a "reverse" adapter online (it's used to fix theft recoveries) ... I will confirm 100% the wire locations and draft up an "adaptive" schematic ... as this uses the later year color coding.
__________________
3 time G-body owner
86 Cutlass Salon 307/200-4r (salvaged May 04)
87 Cutlass Supreme 307/200-4r (stolen Oct 04)
81 Cutlass Calais 260/350 (purchased Nov 04)
never thought I'd say "I miss the power of a 307"
fixed that with an Olds 350/200-4r

Last edited by DrRansom442 : 03-02-2009 at 06:45 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 10:21 AM   #15
Anubis
 
Anubis's Avatar

Title: I Have an Olds Life
Status: Offline
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,971
Default Re: 82 Cutlass Stereo Replacement.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 406Boy View Post
I want to put a later model GM factory radio w/CD player in my '82. What fits and what will I need for the changeover adapters, harnesses, etc?
Keep in mind that a good source for nice Delco stereos with cassette and EQ are Oldsmobile 88's, 98's, or Buick Electras and Part Avenues. These will bolt in and connect to your harness without modifications as long as it comes from a 88' or older donor car. In 89' GM updated the plug. The only things you'll need are the (2) plastic mounting brackets and the locator boss on the back of the stereo.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 03:18 PM   #16
LedHed430
 
LedHed430's Avatar

Title: I Have an Olds Life
Status: Offline
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chester, South Carolina
Posts: 1,933
Photos: 33  Users Photo Gallery
Default Re: 82 Cutlass Stereo Replacement.

Quote:
Originally Posted by OLDSDCTR View Post
That Audiovox unit looks like it belongs there from the factory....nice installation
Thanks, I picked it up at the BASE Exchange (I'm a wingnut not a ground pounder ) a few years back for partially that reason. There's no visible trademarks to indicate it's an aftermarket unit. Other reasons why I bought it: It's 1 DIN so it fits perfectly, CD AND cassette(I still have a lot of tapes) with a disc changer controller feature, and the biggest reason... My Mom can operate it, except for setting the clock, I still have to do that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis
Part Avenues
Now that's funny.

Rich
__________________
'84 Cutlass Supreme Brougham, T-top, 350/200-4R
'68 Pontiac Tempest Custom, 2-Door Coupe, OHC 250
'73 Pontiac Grandville, 455/400, *CRUSHED* Engine & Tranny saved
'76 Pontiac Bonneville, 400/400, *CRUSHED* Engine & Tranny saved, Das Boot(hooptie)
'99 GMC Sierra, ton, 5.3l w/Hypertech tuning

-Repeal the 17th-


  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2009, 06:21 PM   #17
broman1960
 
broman1960's Avatar

Title: Olds Junkie
Status: Offline
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: new york
Posts: 776
Photos: 10  Users Photo Gallery
Default Re: 82 Cutlass Stereo Replacement.

I have the same year car, I had to use an after market one, but mine had the cassette. you can get a car audio place to put one in for you which would be clean. Do not use best buy or those places but a real car audio place.
__________________
1982 v8 307 7A heads
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2009, 07:19 PM   #18
69hurstolds
 
69hurstolds's Avatar

Title: Soylent Green Processing Facility Supervisor
Status: Offline
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Aiken, SC
Posts: 7,915
Photos: 33  Users Photo Gallery
Default Re: 82 Cutlass Stereo Replacement.

78-85 woodgrain patterns are the same.
__________________
http://www.oldspower.com/photopost/data/500/medium/874423.jpg

If you don't like something, change it. If you can't change it, change your attitude. Don't complain.

  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:58 AM.

A vBSkinworks Design

 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
OldsPower.com 2012 Herald/Rothe