PDA

View Full Version : LIGHTNING ROD PROBLEM

08-13-2001, 10:55 AM
ANYBODY HAVE PROBLEMS WITH THEIR LIGHTNING ROD SHIFTERS? WHEN MANUALLY SHIFTING THE SHIFTER FEELS MUSHY ,IT WONT ENGAGE INTO THE NEXT GEAR RIGHT AWAY, IT GETS JAMED UP, BASICALLY IT SUCKS BUT I KNOW THIS IS A RARE SHIFTER AND I WANT TO KEEP IT BUT ITS KILLING ME. ANY SUGGESTIONS ON A REBUILD? CAN I SEND IT BACK TO HURST?

SOLO
08-13-2001, 11:01 AM
<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by 87442:
ANY SUGGESTIONS ON A REBUILD? CAN I SEND IT BACK TO HURST?</font>

I have no experience with lightning rod shifters or Hurst, but it says on their website that they can rebuild shifters. It says on the website that LR rebuilding costs $90. Go to

http://www.mrgasket.com/hurstfaq.htm

Solo

83Cutlass
08-13-2001, 04:52 PM
I have absoleutely no experience with Lightning Rod Shifters but I'd say try lubing it up w/ whatever (Oil, WD40, grease). But I also heard they are more show than go, but I don't think it should jamb up.

GBH
08-13-2001, 05:20 PM
It's probably out of adjustment. My wife has an 84 H/O, and it had the same problem. The shifter depends on the tranny detents to maintin its position.
You adjust it with both the shifter and trans in neutral. The stud and nut that holds the cable end to the tranny arm can slide in the slot. Make sure everything is where it needs to be and tighten it up. I'd try to adjust it before I bought a new cable
If you still have the column linkage hooked up, check your motor mounts, especially the driver side. Check the tranny mount too. If the mounts are bad, the engine/tranny can move around and tweak the column linkage, which in turn can work the shifter cable and stretch it. It's especially noticeable if you can't shift out of first under heavy throttle, but have no problem when sitting still or cruising.